Let’s pick up where we left off last week. Here’s the Part 2 of the golf rules you should remember if you plan to play in a tournament.
Move Growing Things To Improve Your Position Or Lie
It looks like you have a shot after seeing that your ball came to rest right under the tree. However, there’s that pesky limb that’s hindering your backswing. So, you’re thinking of breaking the branch off. Hold your horses! You cannot do that if you are playing a golf tournament. You absolutely cannot improve your ball’s lie or position. This rule prevents you from bending or moving fixed or growing things within your envisioned swing.
Moving impediments from the sand traps as well as grounding your club are two huge violations. I called these infractions on an opponent in a North Myrtle Beach golf match as per the instruction of my high school golf coach. Because of this, my competitor chunked his first shot in the sand trap. In disgust, he slammed his club. After that he attempted his second shot but not after throwing out a few rocks surrounding his ball. Both of these are violations in a competitive play. He became more furious after I told him about the two offenses.
Rake in bunker
This one is quite confusing. Per the USGA guidelines, a rake is a “movable obstruction,” which means you can move it in case your ball comes to rest against it.
Tapping down your putts
Since a lot of players these days wear softless spikes, this scenario no longer happens that much. But in case you come across this situation, resist the temptation of pressing down the spike marks that you see on the golf course. If you do, you will suffer a two-stroke penalty.
Lost ball time
You will be given five minutes to search for your golf ball. The timer starts when you begin looking and not after hitting the shot. If you cannot find the ball after the given period, it will be considered lost.
Announcing the provisional
I must admit, I like the word “mulligan.” It changes an unlucky situation like having a lost ball into a plan of action. Without looking at the dictionary, I believe the word’s etymology comes from the movies of Clint Eastwood. Unfortunately, saying mulligan cannot be construed as a correct procedure based on the guidelines of USGA. As a player, you need to say that “I am hitting a provisional” to your opponents. You need to leave your provisional ball in case the original is not lost, out of bounds, or you found out that it is in a water hazard.
On the other hand, whenever you hit an excellent provisional shot, you may not wish to locate your original ball. When someone sees it just before you play a shot using the provisional, you should play the first ball.
Relief from immovable objects, ground under repair, and cart paths
Most golf players realize that they obtain relief in such situations. In line with that, most have no idea as to the correct way to rectify. You take your position, from that point obtaining one club length of relief. The new area needs to be with no hindrance from what triggered the drop. From the USGA: “For instance, when the ball is situated on a cart path, the ball should be dropped at a spot where the cart path doesn’t obstruct the ball’s lie, his stance, as well as the portion of planned swing. When the ball rests in this position, it should be re-dropped.”
Be sure to drop by next week for Golf Rules Part 3. If you are interested in golf memberships, call MyGolf and learn more about their weekly, monthly, and yearly subscriptions.
1504 Highway 17 S, Suite A
North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582